April 29, 2006

The Weakerthans & Sarah Harmer, Glenn Gould Studio, Toronto, 18 November 2005

Posted in mp3, radio session at 11:31 pm by rgsc

In November two of my favourite bands/artists, Sarah Harmer and The Weakerthans, performed together at the Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto. Naturally, by the time that I heard about it the concert has sold out, but the CBC was kind enough to broadcast it twice and I was able to record it the second time around (which, sadly, edited a few of the more interesting songs out to fit the time slot). It is quite an interesting show with favourites of both artists being performed along with a few covers in each of the sets. While “Benediction” wasn’t performed (am I the only one to find that odd?) Sarah helped The Weakerthans out on a couple of tunes and vice versa.

As I mentioned, a few of the songs were cut out, as was most of the talk. My recording is plagued with low ‘pops’ which you may or may find detrimental to your enjoyment. Despite all this, I think if you are a fan of either The Weakerthans or Sarah Harmer you should like these songs. I am hoping to find a better recording and if you happen to have one and are willing to share you would definitely earn a shiny gold star from me. That’s it from me from Cleveland.
r

UPDATE: Utilities and Lodestar links fixed. UPDATE2: get the missing tracks here

The Weakerthans with Sarah Harmer, Glenn Gould Studio, Toronto, 18 November 2005

1) My Favourite Chords.mp3 (4.09 MB)
2) Reconstruction Site.mp3 (2.94 MB)
3) Psalm for the Elks Lodge Last Call.mp3 (2.7 MB)
4) Utilities.mp3 (3.9 MB)
5) Night Windows.mp3 (4.12 MB)
6) Swinging Party.mp3 (The Replacements cover) with Sarah Harmer (3.96 MB)
7) Reasons.mp3 (3.72 MB)
8 ) Past-Due.mp3 (1.84 MB)

Sarah Harmer with The Weakerthans, Glen Gould Studio, Toronto, 18 November 2005

1) I am Aglow.mp3 (2.57 MB)
2) Escarpment Blues.mp3 (3.7 MB)
3) Weakened State.mp3 (3.17 MB)
4) Islands in the Stream.mp3 (Bee Gees cover) with The Weakerthans (4.38 MB)
5) Gone for Good.mp3 (The Shins cover) with The Weakerthans (3.68 MB)
6) I’m a Mountain.mp3 with The Weakerthans (3.17 MB)
7) Lodestar.mp3 (5.06 MB)

Buy The Weakerthans and Sarah Harmer stuff

22 Comments »

  1. T Bird said,

    GREAT!

    One problem though, Lodestar is actually I’m a Mountain.

  2. V Bird said,

    and Utilities is actualy Night Windows

  3. rgsc said,

    Oops. sorry about that. Thanks for letting me know – the links have now been fixed

  4. jess said,

    thank you. i love the covers; their voices are so perfectly matched.

  5. April said,

    This/you are/is awesome.

    They did actually sing Benediction at the concert, but they cut that out of both airings of the show, I guess because of time. Whoever made that decision didn’t know what they were doing though, because benediction with both of them live is gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous.

  6. rgsc said,

    Hey April – i figured they had to have played Benediction but whywhywhy did they cut it? Have the producers of CBC gone mad? They played the better part of Songs for Clem at the end of the first broadcast so time most likely wasn’t the reason. Maybe a technical error in the recording? who knows what went on there. I am grateful for what they did play but still…i love that song.
    When I saw the weakerthans in kingston in the summer of ’04 Sarah was there and she hopped on stage for Bendection. it was sublime.

  7. thanks so much for this…i’ve been listening to this for weeks now!

  8. woj said,

    belated thanks for this! i was afraid the broadcast was going to be lost forever!

  9. rgsc said,

    You’re welcome – i am still holding out the hope that i will find the missing tracks sooner or later
    r

  10. Craig said,

    New reader; came over because another MP3 blog linked to you today.

    I love both Sarah Harmer and the Weakerthans, so even with some songs missing, I’m soooooo in heaven that you had this and that the files are still downloadable. (As you know, with some MP3 blogs any posting more than a week or two old is probably not going to work anymore.) Thankyouthankyouthankyou…

    I’ll keep an eye out for the missing songs too, and if I happen to find ’em I’ll pass ’em on.

  11. Craig said,

    Newsflash…CBC One is rerunning the concert right now, the evening of July 2, 2006. I’m currently ripping it right now off the .OGG stream, and they’re playing the complete concert, rather than the edited version. I missed a bit at the beginning, because I didn’t actually know it was coming until I heard Shelley Solmes say “Weakerthans”. But that’s not a problem, particularly, since none of the tracks you’re missing were at the beginning.

    If you haven’t already got the missing tracks from another source, e-mail me (craigbear at gmail dot com) and when I’ve edited them from the master stream I’ll send you copies. They’ll be in .OGG, though.

  12. […] In November Sarah Harmer and the Weakerthans peformed were brought together in concert by the CBC. I was able to get most of the show in a rebroadcast but they cut out a few amazing tracks. I put out a plea looking for the rest and, in a recent rebroadcast of the original (complete) show was recorded by b(oot)log reader Craig, who was kind enough to send me the tracks to share with you all. So Craig, you are hearby awarded the “b(oot)log order of merit for you alertness and generosity.” You are my new personal hero. Thanks very much and I hope everyone enjoys. […]

  13. tobycj said,

    any chance you could re-upload these as the links to the mp3s seem to be dead now? 😦
    toby x

  14. rgsc said,

    Toby – the tracks are still online. Ezarchive must have just been acting up when you tried to get them. Please try again and you shouldn’t have a problem.
    r

  15. cheapsoma said,

  16. pancho said,

    Thanks!

  17. Stephen said,

    WOW! Thank you so much! I was sitting here listening to the song Benidiction at work and thought of looking at just who did the female vocal track..and found this!!!!!

    Merci!

  18. Andrew said,

    the link for I’m a mountain doesn’t seem to be working, the link works but the file isn’t there
    thank you so much for posting these great songs
    Andrew

  19. rgsc said,

    seems to be working alright. give it another shot – may have been just a glitch in the interwebs.

  20. BHodges said,

    Many thanks for hosting and providing these.

  21. […] are usually pretty unfortunate. And I wouldn’t bring it up if I hadn’t stumbled across a Bootlog post from 2006 last week that has some absolutely wonderful tracks that were recorded at a show in Toronto she did […]

  22. 健康网 said,

    ^_^··哈哈··支持捏!


Leave a comment