December 12, 2008

Serena Ryder, The Mod Club, Toronto, 19 November 2008

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:01 pm by rgsc

Photo taken at the Blue Revue by Janzen Photography.

Hey. I intended to get this up much, much earlier, but better late than never. The last concert of 2008 at the Grad Club (but not in Kingston – be sure to hit up the Salvation Army Benefit, Dec. 22nd at Bar None!) is going to be one of its best. Serena Ryder is coming to town tomorrow (December 13th) and is going to absolutely blow you away with her huge, rich voice and powerful songs. She deals with her personal angst by belting it out, holding nothing at all back. Passionate and soulful, it is going to be a great night of music that you are not going to want to miss. It is an early show (doors at 8, show stars at 8:30 – no word of an opener but the GC site says “tbd”) and you can get your tickets at the door.

Serena Ryder will be touring Ontario (with a detour to Vancouver) through the end of the month and then will be all over the States in Jan & Feb. Full dates at her myspace, upcoming ones here:

3 Dec 2008 – Grad Club, Kingston
14 Dec 2008 – Meaford Town Hall, Meaford
15 Dec 2008 – Starlite, Waterloo
16 Dec 2008 – Gordon Best Theatre (SOLD OUT), Peterborough
18 Dec 2008 – Media Club (SOLD OUT), Vancouver
20 Dec 2008 – Nathan Philips Square, Toronto

I have a recording from the same concert as the Hawksley Workman show that I posted below but there was an error when transfering the mp3 files from my work cpu so I found myself without them. Thankfully the wonderful, amazing, astounding, dependable CBC came through for me. So, for your listening pleasure I have a couple of tracks from the show at the Mod Club from a few weeks back. The full show can be found here and be sure to check out all the other great concerts at their Concerts on Demand page.

Serena Ryder, The Mod Club, Toronto, 19 November 2008  (CBC)

* Little Bit Of Red
* Weak In The Knees

Buy SR’s albums and shirts. They will fit nicely in stockings hung by fires and will put smiles on your loved ones faces.

1 Comment »

  1. Craig Moynes said,

    Awesome set! I first saw Serena Ryder at the Peterborough Folk Fest a few years back. She stood there on the grass, under a white tent, barely big enough to fit her Beau Dixon, and Danny Michel under it and belted out several tunes. I was blown away. I actually have the recordings on my computer of that day if you want me to send them to ya. One of her old songs (I think she sang it that day) is on her new album.

    Now to figure out how to pluck the media files from the cbc site to mp3.


Leave a comment