July 15, 2006

Regina Spektor, The Current, MPR, 2 May 2006

Posted in mp3, radio session at 10:09 am by rgsc

Not too long ago I discovered Regina Spektor, thanks to Bows+Arrows, and since first listening to “Samson” I was smitten. She has an extraordinary voice with which she brings alive some of the most beautiful songs I have heard in a good long time. Spektor has amazing range and a fondness for rather unconventional vocalizations (for example, see “Better” in this set, particularly about the 2:30 mark; she talks about this in her interview with NPR’s “All things Considered”). She is a classically trained pianist and her skills match and accentuate her vocal abilities.

In May, Spektor paid a visit to MPR’s new studio to chat and perform a few songs. All three are absolutely gorgeous – particularly this rendition of “Samson” which, while a bit softer than the album version, is perhaps even more powerful. I was also going to post her set from the Beeb on June 29th, but Kwaya Na Kisser beat me to it. It is well worth your while to go get that performance too. And for those who just can’t get enough Regina, I just saw that I{Heart}Music has posted her XFM Session.

Regina Spektor, The Current, MPR, 2 May 2006

1) Intro.mp3 (1.08 MB)
2) Fidelity.mp3 (3.39 MB)
3) Bronx talk.mp3 (3.01 MB)
4) Better.mp3 (2.89 MB)
5) Strokes talk.mp3 (2.62 MB)
6) Samson.mp3 (2.95 MB)
Thank MPR for their generosity in sharing this set by buying Regina Spektor’s albums through their site.

8 Comments »

  1. Grit said,

    I love her.

    Thank you!

  2. Gulliver said,

    Awesome!

    Thanks for the great music, Regina is amazing.

  3. […] Another bootleg EP comes from B(oot)log the definitive bootleg mp3blog. This time it’s Regina Spektor at The Current, MPR, 2 May 2006. […]

  4. gabe said,

    i know it’s just retreading other people’s words, but thank you. thank you. thank you. you keep taking my favorite performers and letting me hear their songs in a whole new way.

  5. rgsc said,

    Hey everyone – you are very welcome. I’m here to share the love… and I lovelovelove this set. Glad you all like it too.

  6. Erwin said,

    Woohoo!
    Thanks a lot. You may think it’s normal but unfortunately not a lot people have the “share the love” attitude you have.
    But I’m glad at least you do.
    Thanks!
    😀

  7. […] i hear in my mind all this music and it breaks my heart hier bitte: per bootlog nebenbei sieht sie dann auch noch sehr gut aus. […]

  8. Catchmarx said,

    I love regina spektor and her song. she’s awsome!!!
    Zapraszam na polską stronę o reginie spektor jest ona w moim adresie więc wchodźcie ludziska!!!


Leave a comment