January 28, 2006

Rolling Tundra Revue part 1: The Constantines, Lee’s Palace, Toronto, 8 April 2005

Posted in bootleg, mp3 at 2:24 am by rgsc

Photo by the awesome Optimus Crime Halifax from the March 24th show.

This is part two in the ongoing series of bands that are coming to Kingston that I won’t be seeing for one reason or the other. I missed Feist and it looks like I will miss both Constantines shows next week at the Grad Club. If you are in town (or anywhere else on their current tour) I highly suggest you check them out if you like to rock out. And really, who doesn’t like to rock out?

In March and April the Constantines and the Weakerthans teamed up for a transcontinental tour of Canada doing 28 shows in 17 cities, starting in St. John’s and ending in Vancouver six weeks later. I caught their first show at Lee’s Palace in Toronto which fell exactly midway in the tour.

This was my first time seeing both bands The Constantines and I wasn’t disappointed. The Constantines played a tight, high energy set to a very receptive crowd. (reviews here and here). Here my recording of their show. As usual, it is from an analogue recorder so quality isn’t tops. I did my best to identify the songs but I couldn’t find a set list so please let me know if I got anything wrong – and for the life of me I couldn’t identify the second song. If you know what it is I would be most grateful if you left me a comment. Also, I missed a bit of the middle of the last song. All files are on rapidshare so click and follow. Complete set with banter is zipped and ready to go at the end. Keep an eye out for the Weakerthans set from this show which I will post….sometime.

r

The Constantines, Lee’s Palace, Toronto, 8 April 2005

[UPDATE: The individual tracks have expired but i have uploaded the full set to be directly downloaded]

1. Hotline Operator.mp3 (3.43 MB)

2. Tank Commander.mp3 (3.78 MB) [Update:got the title of this track]

3. Young Offenders.mp3 (4.06 MB)

4. Good Nurse.mp3 (3.8 MB)

5. Nighttime/Anytime (It’s Alright).mp3 (5.91 MB)

6. Seven AM.mp3 (3.78 MB)

7. Lizavetta.mp3 (3.67 MB)

8. Young Lions.mp3 (3.52 MB)

9. Soon Enough.mp3 (3.79 MB)

10. Arizona (split).mp3 (4.3 MB)

11. Constantines Rolling Tundra Revue Lees Palac Toronto_April_8_2005_complete.zip (41.5 MB)

6 Comments »

  1. Neiles said,

    Man first ya give away Rogue Wave…and now the Constantines…Both are bands that I will be seeing live in the future…and these songs are a great warmup…B(oot)log is definately becoming one of my favourite blogs…Keep up the good work

  2. rgsc said,

    Thanks Neiles. The Cons put on an asskicking live show. I was really excited to see them playing two dates in the tiny Gradclub in Kingston…only to realize that I will not be around for it. I imagine they will be back in another 6months or so but still it would have been good. I am contemplating making the trip to Toronto for Rogue Wave – certainly they are one of my favourite discoveries of last year.
    r

  3. Jess said,

    Belated FYI: Song 2 is Tank Commander

  4. rgsc said,

    Thanks Jess! That has been bugging me for some time – I just couldn’t put my finger on it.
    r

  5. Frank said,

    awwwwwww. 😦 The zip doesn’t work anymore…

  6. rgsc said,

    Hey Frank – I re-uploaded the zip.


Leave a comment