January 15, 2006

Broken Social Scene, Grant Hall, Queen’s University, Kingston, 19 October 2005

Posted in bootleg, mp3 at 5:27 pm by rgsc


photo from the Queen’s Journal

Hey Kids,
As I am sure you all know, Broken Social Scene is currently on a pretty damn big international tour. In a few days they are going to be playing a couple of dates in Toronto. To get you in the mood I am posting my recording of the first date on their current tour which took place in little ol’ Kingston and which I was lucky enough to experience. It was described here so I won’t go into too much more detail about is except to say it was awesome, although the sound was a bit wonky at times. Feist was there belting songs out and playing air guitar and hometown hero Sarah Harmer was present, too. She came out in the encore to sing along as well as give a (more or less) solo performance of ‘Escarpment Blues’.
Same as before: this was taped using an analogue recorder so there is some hiss and the quality is far from A+ (if you know of a better version let me know); the songs are posted individually with the full thing, including talk, posted as one big zip file; they are all on rapidshare so click to follow the link and let me know if you want to host the files yourself [UPDATE: The individual songs are now hosted, with only the zip on rapidshare.] I hope you all enjoy this.

r

Broken Social Scene, Grant Hall, Kingston, 19 October 2005

1. Handjobs for the Holidays.mp3 (6.49 MB)
2. Superconnected.mp3 (4.02MB)
3. 7/4 Shorelines.mp3 (5.93 MB)
4. Fire Eyed Boy.mp3 (3.77MB)
5. Stars and Sons.mp3 (5.21MB)
6. Major Label Debut.mp3 (4.39MB)
7. Swimmers.mp3 (3.44MB)
8. Hotel.mp3 (5.07MB)
9. Almost Crimes.mp3 (4.44MB)
10. Ibi Dreams of Pavement.mp3 (5.12MB)
11. Lover’s Spit.mp3 (7.82MB)
12. Backyards.mp3 (8.02MB) [encore]
13. Sarah_Harmer with_BSS – Escarpment_Blues.mp3 (6.38 MB) [encore]
14. KC Accidental.mp3 (5.36MB) [encore]

15. Broken Social Scene Kingston 19 October 2005.zip (86.1MB) (complete)

4 Comments »

  1. Casey said,

    Arg, I just did my week end wrap up of what’s going on in the mp3 blog world, and didn’t know about the new one you have here. Otherwise this post definately would have been up. I’ll link to it soon anyhow.

    Either way, this looks like it could become a sweet blog.

  2. rgsc said,

    Hey Casey,
    Thanks. I recently found Mockingmusic and I’m loving what you guys are doing there. It would be great if you mentioned me.

    I am going to have something new up each week – I would love to update more often but I only have so many bootlegs to post so I want to stretch them out as long as possible. I am planning to round things out with bootlegs/live sessions that I have found & ripped and maybe some other stuff. Anyway, check this site out everyonce in a while and you might see stuff of interest.
    r

  3. […] I don’t think it is much of an exaggeration to state that Sarah Harmer is one of the most versatile singers currently performing. She has successfully tried her hand at numerous musical genres from alt/indie rock as part of Weeping Tile, to pleasing pop in her two solo records released by Warner Universal, and folk-bluegrass-roots-jazz in her work with Jason Euringer and in her latest solo release. And she has performed with a diverse assortment of artists including The Tragically Hip, Great Big Sea, the Rheostatics, and the Weakerthans. In each project her powerful, clear voice seems at home: it never feels less than authentic and natural. Here newest record, “I’m A Mountain,” released February 7th in the US and to be released on March 6th in Europe, takes a “back to the land” approach in both its theme and musical style. The record was inspired by the “I love the Escarpment Tour” which she undertook to raise awareness about the pressing need to preserve the Niagara Escarpment, a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, from mining companies (she talks to the Queen’s Journal about the album, the tour and the Escarpment; see PERL for more info on this and to sign their petition; Click here to hear my recording of “Escarpment Blues” which she performed with Broken Social Scene, hosted by SilverRoad). This mix of covers, new versions of older songs, and new material is authentic and serious, amusing and uplifting, and stunningly beautiful throughout (see CokeMachineGlow’s review). […]

  4. Are these (especially E. Blues) available anywhere else? I cant’t get enough of this beautiful singer. ANyone able to email it? Post it? I will help in any way I can. Please


Leave a comment