March 19, 2007

John K Samson & Christine Fellows, CBCRadio3, 17 March 2007

Posted in mp3, radio session at 7:57 pm by rgsc

As many of you will know, CBC’s amazing Radio 3 has been axed from the terrestrial airwaves. Sure, there still will be the podcast and, if you can afford satellite radio, it is on Sirius, but there will be a definite hole in my Saturday night. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in thinking that taking Radio 3 off the air is a mistake but the brass at the Ceeb think that it is wise to do away with a stellar show which features predominantly Canadian indie music at a time when indie rock, and Canadian indie rock in particular, couldn’t be any hotter. I’m no media expert so perhaps I’m mistaken. The upshot of if all is that the masses will be deprived of something really cool and that really blows.

I was away from hearth and home (and radio) on Saturday night so I didn’t get to listen to the last show live but I did record it. At least some of it. Due to technical error, or most likely my boneheadedness, I only got from 7:30 to 11pm. From what I heard of it, Saturday’s show was a celebration of the program and its predecessors. The good and the great called in to talk, reminisce, and recall the good times and, of course, play some really awesome music. All in all it was a pretty way to go out.

The greatest thing of all was the live in-studio appearance of two of the greatest musicians around: John K. Samson and Christine Fellows. Because of the aforementioned non-recording of the last bit of the show, I only got one song from each, but man-oh-man are they great. I know they played a few more songs, including “Left and Leaving” and if you happen to have successfully recorded the rest of session and would be kind enough to share it with me you would totally be my hero (I live in hope that they put the session on the Radio3 site). Anyway, from me to you, from the best radio show around, may it rest in peace, here is one last sample of the great things that CBCRadio3 brought to Canada week in and week out.

* John K Samson, The Reasons (live on CBCRadio3, 17 March 2007)

* Christine Fellows, Vertebrae (live on CBCRadio3, 17 March 2007)

JKS records with a little outfit called The Weakerthans and you can get their records here and here and the stunning work of Christine Fellows can be found here. Your record collection is severely deprived without them.

6 Comments »

  1. Craig said,

    Six songs in your e-mail shortly.

  2. rgsc said,

    You sir, are a scholar and a gentleman. I can’t thank you enough.

  3. […] so, the fact that I’m rather incompetent was reinforced when I missed recording 2/3rds of the John K. Samson and Christine Fellows set on the last CBC Radio 3 show. Take heart, b(oot)loggers, because Craig, who previously supplied us […]

  4. Andy Weeks said,

    If somebody would please be kind enough to send me the whole set as well I would love you forever thanks!!!

  5. rgsc said,

    For Andy and all others, the full set can be found here:
    https://bootlog.wordpress.com/2007/04/03/john-k-samson-christine-fellows-cbcradio3-17-march-2007-update/

  6. John K. Samson is my hero. Thank you for everything that you have given to this world. Here’s to you and Christine!


Leave a Reply

