October 15, 2006

controller.controller, CBC Radio3 Session, Toronto, 2004

Posted in mp3, radio session at 12:13 am by rgsc

Photo by Simon.y from the Red Room, 1 April 2005

On September 14th I saw controller.controller with YSP!WSD! and The D’Urbervilles. It was a pretty great show and this time, like the few others times I have seen them, something conspired to prevent me from recording their show (this time – technical malfunction, most likely caused by user error, although I am pretty sure I got decent recordings of the two earlier acts). The fact that I screwed it up is even more irksome since it looks like I won’t get another chance as this was what turns out to be their last tour. Lead singer Nirmala Basnayake has left the band. In place of a recording by me of c.c, I offer up to you a CBCRadio3 Studio Session from the December 10-16, 2004 issue of CBC3 Magazine. Listen and relive those days of red lights, sultry vocals, thumping bass, and razor-sharp guitar licks.

controller.controller, CBC Radio3 Session, Toronto, 2004

1) Intro.mp3 (0.3 MB)

2) PF.mp3 (3.16 MB)

3) Watch the speed up talk.mp3 (0.2 MB)

4) Poison/Safe.mp3 (4.17 MB)

5) The Raw No.mp3 (3.19 MB)

6) Less suck talk.mp3 (0.4 MB)

7) City of Daggers.mp3 (3.6 MB)

8 ) Stab it talk.mp3 (0.2 MB)

9) Disco Blackout.mp3 (4.32 MB)

10) Shhhh talk.mp3 (0.5 MB)

11) Silent Seven.mp3 (4.23 MB)

12) Magnetic Strip.mp3 (4.14 MB)

Buy c.c records from Paber Bag.

5 Comments »

  1. Katherine said,

    Thanks! I’ve had this recording for the longest time, but never split it into individual tracks.

  2. Colin said,

    This great, thanks a ton. Any other live controller.controller anywhere?

  3. rgsc said,

    You are both very welcome. The only other live c.c I have found is a concert they did for CBC 3 around the same time as this session. I have it on my harddrive but haven’t broken it up. It may become a future b(oot)log post so stay tuned.

  4. Roland said,

    Wow! I finally stumbled upon your blog via i (heart) music; you’re doing an excellent job! I saw these guys over the summer in Ottawa, and I liked what I heard. It’s a pity that Nirmala left the band.

    Keep up the good work.

  5. Zaied said,

    Is it possible to get this re-hosted? I fucking love this band


Leave a Reply

