April 1, 2006

Rolling Tundra Revue part 2: The Weakerthans, Lee’s Palace, Toronto, 8 April 2005

Posted in bootleg, mp3 at 1:23 pm by rgsc

photo by BusySignals from the Saskatoon show on April 20th.

It took me a while to get back around to it, but here is the highly anticipated part 2 of the Rolling Tundra Revue. After being treated to a rather rocking set by The Constantines, The Weakerthans took the stage to entertain and enlighten the gathered crowd. I had seen the Weakerthans previously about a year before in Kingston and in both shows there was a rather distinct lack of engagement with the crowd. There was virtually no banter on either occassion – a few "thanks," one or two song introductions, and that's pretty much it. Not that I particullarly mind, however, because John K and crew did what they came to do – play great music – but as far as "all time great concert experiences" there was something a bit lacking with this show. Don't get me wrong, I thought they were good, and I would definitely go to see them again, but it was not what i would call great or particularly memorable. I don't know – any one else want to weigh in on the Weakerthans live? What do you think? Is it just me? At any rate, the Weakerthans played a really solid set drawing almost equally from their three albums. In addition to the old favourites they played two new songs – Night Windows & Reunion Tour – both of which were quite good. The show ended with the Constantines coming back onstage to join the Weakerthans, forming something of a Canuck-rocknroll-supergroup, for a rousing rendition of the Travelling Wilburys' "End of the Line".

As you no doubt expect by now, this is an audience recording, made on an analogue tape recorder, so be warned that this isn't soundboard quality. Despite that, I think you still might enjoy it. Oh, and I am missing a bit of the middle of "Left & Leaving" as i had to switch tapes. That's it. Until next week.

r

The Weakerthans, Lee’s Palace, Toronto, 8 April 2005
1) (Manifest).mp3 (2.07 MB)
2) Our Retired Explorer (Dines With Michel Foucault in Paris, 1961).mp3 (2.29 MB)
3) Watermark.mp3 (2.48 MB)
4) Psalm for the Elks Lodge Last Call.mp3 (2.56 MB)
5) Aside.mp3 (3.29 MB)
6) Benediction.mp3 (3.8 MB)
7) Night Windows.mp3 (4.59 MB)
8) Confessions Of A Futon-Revolutionist.mp3 (2.18 MB)
9) The Reasons.mp3 (3.52 MB)
10) Pamphleteer.mp3 (4.64 MB)
11) Reconstruction Site.mp3 (2.85 MB)
12) Plea From A Cat Named Virtute.mp3 (4.03 MB)
13) Left & Leaving (Joined).mp3 (4.21 MB)
14) If bill murray were a song – encore talk.mp3 (0.8 MB)
15) My Favourite Chords.mp3 (3.95 MB)
16) This Is A Fire Door Never Leave Open.mp3 (4.4 MB)
17) Openers thanks & stuff for sale talk.mp3 (0.4 MB)
18) Reunion Tour.mp3 (3.01 MB)
19) End of the Line.mp3 (Travelling Wilburys cover, with the Constantines, 4.96 MB)

Buy Weakerthans albums here.

3 Comments »

  1. Julian said,

    I saw the Kingston leg of this tour, and, while I was underwhelmed by The Constantines (who I’d never seen before), I was fairly blown away by The Weakerthans. I agree that they were pretty quiet and low-key, but to me that seemed to fit their music, and what I’d assumed their personalities to be.

    Thanks so much for recording this.

  2. rgsc said,

    Hey Julian, you're most welcome and thanks for leaving a comment. It is funny – I went to the show liking the Constantines alright but not being a huge fan and really, really liking the Weakerthans, I was really impressed by the Cons. I think if I had seen the show in Kingston (where was it? the elixer? I travelled to Toronto for it to go with some friends) I might have had a slightly different opinion – when I saw them the year previously in Kingston I had a much better time (of course, Sarah Harmer which very well could have been the clincher) – a more intimate environment, perhaps? I just didn't feel particularly 'connected' this time. But they did sound very good. I guess I am just a bit ambivalent about them as a live act but will still go to see them anytime i get a chance.
    r

  3. Mark? said,

    I really, really like The Weakerthans.


Leave a Reply

