February 18, 2006

Dinosaur Jr., World Cafe, NPR, 24 August 2005

Posted in mp3, radio session at 9:11 am by rgsc

My planned post for tommorow is sort of short so I thought do two posts this weekend. The first revisits a band I listened to when I was younger: Dinosaur Jr. I must admit I was never really cool enough to listen to their early stuff, mostly just “Feel the Pain” era stuff which I thought was pretty damn great. (The video for that song, directed by Spike Jonze, is fantastic. Stupid wordpress doesn’t want to let me imbed it so here is the YouTube link definitely worth checking out if you haven’t seen it). The band reformed with its original line up in 2005 and has been touring extensively. They plan to release a new album (the first with original bassist Lou Barlow since 1989) as well as a DVD. The first three Dinosaur Jr. albums were re-released on Merge in 2005. Late in August of 2005 they stopped by NPR’s World Cafe to play a couple of songs (both from their 1985 album “Dinosaur”). Check back later tommorow for another (rather different) post.

Dinosaur Jr. World Cafe, NPR, 24 August 2005

1) Introduction.mp3 (0.5 MB)
2) Quest.mp3 (4.69 MB)
3) Talk with Dinosaur Jr.mp3 (4.39 MB)
4) Bulbs of Passion.mp3 (3.59MB)
5) Drum talk & outro.mp3 (1.41 MB)

6) Dinosaur Jr – NPR World Cafe – 24 Aug 2005.zip (Complete, 14.3 MB)

3 Comments »

  1. Cy said,

    Hi! Awesome site, I love the concept. Thanks a bunch for sharing the concerts. I was wondering if you could record or get the BSS session that’ll air on March 2nd? Streams are not my friend unfortunately..

  2. rgsc said,

    Hey Cy,
    Thanks. Is the BSS session from the CBC? Let me know where I can find it and I shall do my best to get it and if i do i’ll be sure to post it here.
    r

  3. rgsc said,

    Ah ha! found it: Broken Social Scene on World Cafe, airing march 2nd. hopefully won’t be a problem.


Leave a Reply

