February 11, 2006

Stars, “Petite Mort” 7″ single

Posted in b-side/rarity/etc, mp3 at 10:53 am by rgsc

I forgot to bring home the files I needed to write my planned post so please check back on Monday and I will make it up to you. However, so you don’t go away empty handed I have posted a Stars song for you.

This song was an outake from the “Set Yourself on Fire” sessions. It was released as a 7″ single (with a remix of “What The Snowman Learned About Love”). It is a interesting song with a staccato, spoken delivery in the verses, an upbeat tempo and some nice harmonies and it stays within the theme of “sex and death and robots” of “Set Yourself…”

Stars are playing a free outdoor show as part of Ottawa’s Winterlude on February 18th so if you are in the NCR be sure to check it out. Here are the dates for the rest of the tour (all ages show in Kingston on the 27th at AJs). Also, here (via For the ‘Records’) is an interview with Amy Millan where she tells a dirty joke.

Stars, Petite Mort.mp3 (4.49 MB)

UPDATE: As a bonus, reader Scott has sent me Stars, Live on CBC’s ZeD performing an excellent version of What the Snowman Learned About Love [new link](6.58 MB). Thanks Scott! My belated weekend update will be posted sometime this afternoon or early this evening.

9 Comments »

  1. scott clayton said,

    I have a stars performance of what the snowman learned about love from Zed. I can’t find your email anywhere on your site though, I’m guessing for legal reasons, so you can email it to me if you want me to send it to you if you don’t already have it.

  2. Sean said,

    Thanks! I’ve not heard this one before.

  3. rgsc said,

    Hey Scott,
    That would be great if you could send me that performance (I can post it here too, if you don’t mind). My email address, tucked away in the disclaimer section on my sidebar which sometimes appears at the bottom of the page, is bootlogger[at]gmail[dot]com.

    No problem at all Sean, thanks for the link on your site.
    r

  4. stephen said,

    I know I am a bit too late comment this entry, but I would like to ask if someone can send me the Live Version of What the snowman learned about Love… thx very much.

  5. stephen said,

    or upload it to rapidshare… thx

  6. Jacob said,

    i have looked for Petite Mort literally… everywhere. I just can’t find it. I am a big fan of stars and have… basically every other song they have ever released. (at least i think i do). If you could email me it that would just be wonderful.

  7. rgsc said,

    hmm. you are right. It doesn’t seem to be available anymore. Check your inbox, Jacob.

  8. Eds said,

    Hi. I know it’s toooo late to leave a comment here. I’m desperate and the rapidshare link is not working anymore… could you kindly (please) email me the song? Thank you very much.

  9. Sophie said,

    I am desperate as well! Any chance you could email it to me?


Leave a Reply

